https://nashvillearts.com Tue, 18 Sep 2018 16:51:46 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.8 https://nashvillearts.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/cropped-NashArtsLogoIcon-1-32x32.jpg https://nashvillearts.com 32 32 NPT: Arts Worth Watching https://nashvillearts.com/2018/08/npt-arts-worth-watching-16/ Wed, 01 Aug 2018 13:33:08 +0000 https://nashvillearts.com/?p=76337 August 2018 Summer is heating up and so is the music programming on NPT! Tune in for a range of performances, including Brandi Carlile in Concert – A Bluegrass Underground Special airing Friday, August 10, at 7 p.m.; and the annual Vienna Philharmonic Summer Night Concert, on Friday, August 17, at 9 p.m. on Great […]

The post NPT: Arts Worth Watching appeared first on .

]]>
Art See https://nashvillearts.com/2018/08/art-see-33/ Wed, 01 Aug 2018 13:32:36 +0000 https://nashvillearts.com/?p=76302 August 2018 Photography by Michael Nott

The post Art See appeared first on .

]]>
The Bookmark: A Monthly Look at Hot Books and Cool Reads https://nashvillearts.com/2018/08/the-bookmark-a-monthly-look-at-hot-books-and-cool-reads-9/ Wed, 01 Aug 2018 13:30:59 +0000 https://nashvillearts.com/?p=76281 August 2018 The Death of Truth                                         Michiko Kakutani      “How did truth become an endangered species in contemporary America?” That’s the question at the heart of this overview by former New York Times chief book critic, Pulitzer Prize winner Michiko Kakutani. While it’s far from the first volume to consider this question, and it […]

The post The Bookmark: A Monthly Look at Hot Books and Cool Reads appeared first on .

]]>
Sounding Off: Alias’s Rhythms, Rivers and Roads https://nashvillearts.com/2018/08/sounding-off-aliass-rhythms-rivers-and-roads/ Wed, 01 Aug 2018 13:29:23 +0000 https://nashvillearts.com/?p=76297 Alias’s Rhythms, Rivers and Roads By: Joseph E. Morgan On July 12, the Alias Chamber Ensemble closed their 2017-18 season with a concert at Vanderbilt University Blair School of Music. The concert featured world premieres of works by Tennessee composer/performers Christopher Farrell (viola), Tracy Silverman (electric violin), and Matt Walker (cello) and focused on different […]

The post Sounding Off: Alias’s Rhythms, Rivers and Roads appeared first on .

]]>
Community Enrichment: Poverty and the Arts https://nashvillearts.com/2018/08/community-enrichment-poverty-and-the-arts/ Wed, 01 Aug 2018 13:28:28 +0000 https://nashvillearts.com/?p=76292 Community Enrichment: Poverty and the Arts At a new studio in East Nashville, Poverty & the Arts expands mission of transforming people affected by homelessness into artists By: Carrington Fox It has been five years since Nashville Arts introduced readers to Poverty & the Arts founder Nicole Brandt Minyard, then a Belmont student who was putting […]

The post Community Enrichment: Poverty and the Arts appeared first on .

]]>
My Favorite Painting – Randy Moberg https://nashvillearts.com/2018/08/my-favorite-painting-randy-moberg/ Wed, 01 Aug 2018 13:26:03 +0000 https://nashvillearts.com/?p=76288 August 2018 My Favorite Painting Mary Grissim, Curator, Arts at the Airport, Grissim Group Consulting Artist Bio: Randy Moberg Randy Moberg, based in Fairhope, Alabama, is known and commended for his oil paintings and drawings. Born in California, Moberg and his parents returned to Mobile, Alabama, where Randy grew up and enlisted in the Navy […]

The post My Favorite Painting – Randy Moberg appeared first on .

]]>
David Lusk Gallery Cultivates Quotidian Inspiration with Daily Art https://nashvillearts.com/2018/08/david-lusk-gallery-cultivates-quotidian-inspiration-with-daily-art/ Wed, 01 Aug 2018 13:25:07 +0000 https://nashvillearts.com/?p=76255 WORDS Peter Chawaga Traditionally, an audience lingers with a piece of visual art the first time they see it. On the walls of a gallery, paintings encourage close scrutiny, deep contemplation, and a labored evaluation from even the most casual visitors. But a new program from Wedgewood-Houston’s David Lusk Gallery, called “Daily Art,” will shift this […]

The post David Lusk Gallery Cultivates Quotidian Inspiration with Daily Art appeared first on .

]]>
The Magic of Magnolias https://nashvillearts.com/2018/08/the-magic-of-magnolias/ Wed, 01 Aug 2018 13:24:48 +0000 https://nashvillearts.com/?p=76253 August 2018 by Marshall Chapman The magnolia is my favorite flower. Every spring, its white, majestic blooms appear miraculously across the South, making my spirits soar. I love flowers in general. Peonies, gardenias, and roses are among my favorites. But grand as they are, they just don’t have the gravitas of the magnolia. Perfumers have […]

The post The Magic of Magnolias appeared first on .

]]>
Capturing the Creative Culture of Our City https://nashvillearts.com/2018/08/capturing-the-creative-culture-of-our-city/ Wed, 01 Aug 2018 13:22:38 +0000 https://nashvillearts.com/?p=76250 Text & Photography by Hunter Armistead Instagram: @hunterarmistead Jay Gibson Photographer and videographer, builder, fun-lover, record label dude System Gamer I stumbled across Jay Gibson at the East Side Art Stumble near Red Arrow Gallery a few months back. He’s a cheerful and laid-back lad, though underneath his unassuming exterior is a dogged mad scientist […]

The post Capturing the Creative Culture of Our City appeared first on .

]]>
An Interview with Nola Scott Jones https://nashvillearts.com/2018/08/an-interview-with-nola-scott-jones/ Wed, 01 Aug 2018 13:20:05 +0000 https://nashvillearts.com/?p=76241 Nola Scott Jones, recently retired Director of Visual & Performing Arts for Metro Schools, offers her thoughts on the current status and future outlook for the arts in our schools.   Do all Metro Schools offer Visual and Performing Arts curriculum and programming?   Yes, all zoned and magnet schools offer arts education. Specific classes […]

The post An Interview with Nola Scott Jones appeared first on .

]]>